Immaculate Hires Mrs. Papia as Science Department Leader

Papia
Mrs. Bernice Papia

10/5/18

by Mackenzie O’Rourke

This year, Immaculate High School has almost entirely revamped its science department staff, adding new teachers in subjects including biology, anatomy, and biomedicine. The new head of this department is biomedicine and AP biology teacher, Mrs. Bernice Papia.

Papia holds a Bachelor of Arts degree from Fordham University in Economics, along with a Master of Arts degree from Saint Joseph’s University in Biology. In the state of Connecticut, she is also certified in Emerging Diseases and Public Health. Papia has been teaching for twenty years. She has previously taught in New York City as well as Saint Joseph High School in Trumbull, Connecticut. At SJHS she taught earth science, genetics, and biology. Papia finds biology compelling and captivating, but her interest in the science sparked through a mini, personal research project. “I originally got interested [in biology] researching a genetic disease that is inherited in my family,” explains Papia.

The new teacher’s transition to Immaculate has been very smooth, although there are many adjustments still to be made. Her intentions for coming to Immaculate were very positive. “I came to Immaculate because I have such an admiration for Catholic education. I have seen first hand amazing young men and women grow into pillar members of society,” says Papia. “I do credit my family’s successes from their Catholic school education.”

Outside of the classroom, Papia enjoys nature and various outdoor activities like sailing, running, and skiing. “Most of all I adore spending time with my daughter,” admits Papia.

 

What do you think?